I Used to Be a Fish

“I Used to Be a Fish” is a book written and illustrated by Tom Sullivan. I think that the book is directed to kids around the age of 8, 9 or possibly even 10. I think that because evolution is a very complicated topic and the book simplifies it. The story begins with a fish that begins evolution by getting off the land and becomes a lizard. During the middle of the book, the fish evolves into a monkey/ape and then turns into a human saying he lost all of his fur. Then the humans start to eat meat and then start building villages, then towns, and then cities. The book ends with modern human civilization. I enjoy the book because of the very simple illustrations, bright colours and a really complicated topic simplified into a short picture book.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *